ASPEN Awards

ASPEN recognizes and presents awards to members who have contributed to the field by showcasing exceptional expertise in clinical practice, education, and advocacy. The accomplishments of those selected for an award improved the quality and efficacy of the profession and their actions provide a positive example for healthcare professionals. Each award is given annually and recipients are recognized at the ASPEN Nutrition Science & Practice Conference.

Applications for the 2023 membership awards are now closed.


Distinguished Service Awards

ASPEN members who have made exceptional leadership and practice contributions that have furthered the vision and mission of the society over a sustained period of time are eligible to receive a Distinguished Service Award. Now, ASPEN members may directly apply for these prestigious awards or nominate a deserving colleague. These awards are a great way to honor the individual’s leadership activities, contributions and volunteerism. Winners of these awards receive $250 reimbursement towards ASPEN23 travel or registration.

Distinguished Nutrition Support Dietitian Service Award.
View past recipients here.

Distinguished Nutrition Support International Service Award.
View past recipients here.

Distinguished Nutrition Support Nurse Service Award.   
View past recipients here.

Distinguished Nutrition Support Pharmacist Service Award.
View past recipients here.

Distinguished Nutrition Support Physician Service Award.
View past recipients here.


Distinguished Nutrition Support Dietitian: Advanced Clinical Practice Award

ASPEN pays tribute to a dietitian member annually in recognition of his or her outstanding contributions in leadership, practice, and advancement of dietitians in the field of nutrition support. Individuals demonstrate excellence in patient care and education and mentorship of dietetic colleagues and students. Winners of these awards receive $250 reimbursement towards ASPEN23 travel or registration. 

View past recipients here


Excellence in Nutrition Support Education Award

This award recognizes a nutrition support educator’s excellence in the delivery of professional education within the field. Individuals have teaching responsibilities in an academic, community, or other supervised training setting.

View past recipients here.


ASPEN Fellows

Each year, ASPEN honors exceptional achievement in practice or research and service to the organization through the Fellowship (FASPEN) designation. This award showcases the many contributions of valuable ASPEN members and recognizes their commitments to ASPEN and the field of clinical nutrition. 

To view past recipients, click here. 


Lyn Howard Nutrition Support Consumer Advocacy Award

ASPEN members sometimes have the opportunity to work directly with patients, families, and/or caregivers who perform admirable activities and heroically advocate for others like themselves and their families. In order to recognize those individuals who do so much for nutrition support, this recognition is given annually to one patient, family member or caregiver. This award is named in honor of ASPEN member and Oley Foundation co-founder, Lyn Howard, MB, FRCP. 

View past recipients here.


Barney Sellers Public Policy Award

Barney Sellers, former ASPEN executive director, had a tremendous impact on public policy and advocacy during his 15-year tenure. This award honors his work with many members to advance our advocacy goals and give ASPEN a voice among policy makers in the US. Nominees have significantly contributed to ASPEN’s advocacy goals. 

View past recipients here.


Stanley Serlick Award 

Annually, a pharmacist who has made significant contributions to improving safe practices for parenteral nutrition through published literature, membership on national committees or task forces, and/or presentations at regional and national meetings is recognized with the Stanley Serlick Award. 

View past recipients here.

ASPEN Clinical Nutrition Team of Distinction Award

This award recognizes excellence in interdisciplinary clinical nutrition practice in institutions or agencies who meet certain criteria and compliance with ASPEN national standards, guidelines, and values. One of ASPEN’s highest achievements, multiple awards may be given annually. These clinical nutrition teams have demonstrated the highest care to their patients. 

View past recipients here.


New Practitioner Awards

This award recognizes emerging professionals who have contributed to the advancement of clinical nutrition. There may be up to one recipient per each of ASPEN’s sixteen Sections. Candidates demonstrate contributions to the field and involvement with ASPEN.