Member Spotlight

Do you know an outstanding ASPEN member? Nominate them to be featured in an upcoming ASPEN Member Spotlight! Nominate a member here or submit a self-nomination.

Check out who was previously featured in Member Spotlight below.

October 2021: Rachel Bayse, MA, RDN, LD

Rachel Bayse, MA, RDN, LDRachel Bayse, MA, RDN, LD, who is a member of the ASPEN Malnutrition Committee, was recently featured on the American Society on Aging's Generations Now, a blog that discusses aging-related issues. She explained how to diagnose and address malnutrition in older adults and the importance of early diagnosis and intervention. Read her article here.

September 2021: Leah Gramlich, MD, FRCP, FASPEN

Leah Gramlich, MD, FRCP, FASPENLeah Gramlich, MD, FRCP, FASPEN, recently participated in the Wall Street Journal’s Global Food Forum panel session “Tackling Malnutrition Sustainably.” This session provided valuable information on how malnutrition looks around the world, the importance of collaboration from all stakeholders, and solutions on combatting malnutrition. Dr. Gramlich is an active ASPEN member. She has served on many committees and task forces, and was on the ASPEN Board of Directors from 2018 - 2020. She is a huge advocate in the fight against malnutrition and is currently the co-chair of the Canadian Malnutrition Task Force under the Canadian Nutrition Society. Be sure to register for her Malnutrition Awareness Week™ webinar, Global Perspectives: Nutrition Care as A Human Right, on October 7.

August 2021: Christina Valentine, MD, MS, RD, FAAP

Christina Valentine, MD, MS, RD, FAAPCongratulations to Christina Valentine, MD, MS, RD, FAAP, and team on their Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD) funded study. They found that women taking 1,000 mg of docosahexaenoic acid (DHA) daily in the second half of their pregnancy had a lower rate of early preterm birth than women who took the standard 200 mg dose. The study appears in EClinicalMedicine. Dr. Valentine is a longtime active member and the current Chair of the Neonatal Section. 

July 2021: Linda Lord, NP, ACNP-BC, CNSC

Linda Lord_SpotlightLinda Lord, NP, ACNP-BC, CNSC recently presented at the Oley Foundation's annual conference. The Oley Foundation provides valuable education to patients and caregivers. Her session, "All in the Family - A Multidisciplinary Approach to Drug Nutrient Interactions - A Nursing Perspective", showed the correct ways to give medications through feeding tubes and reviewed the elements that should be included in medication orders. Lord is an active ASPEN member, currently serving as Chair-Elect for the Nutrition Support Nurses Section.

June 2021: Beth Lyman, MSN, RN

Beth Lyman_SpotlightCongratulations to Beth Lyman, MSN, RN, long-time ASPEN nursing leader and chair of the NOVEL project. She was highlighted during National Nurses Week by Moog Medical for all her contributions to the clinical nutrition field. Beth has served on the ASPEN Board of Directors, is a fellow of ASPEN and the American Academy of Nursing, and is currently serving as a nutrition support nurse consultant.

May 2021: Peggi Guenter, PhD, RN, FAAN, FASPEN

Peggi Guenter_SpotlightCongratulations to Peggi Guenter, PhD, RN, FAAN, FASPEN, on being awarded an Honorary Membership to the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics. This honor is bestowed upon those who have made notable contributions to the field of nutrition and dietetics. Dr. Guenter has been outstanding in her dedication and support to the Academy and the nutrition and dietetics profession.

April 2021: Award Recipients

Membership Awards Featured ImageASPEN annually recognizes and presents awards to members who have contributed to the field by exhibiting exceptional expertise in clinical practice, education, and advocacy. These award recipients have improved the quality and efficacy of the profession and are great examples for healthcare professionals. View the full list of 2021 Award Winners .

March 2021: Student and Trainee Section

Instagram Logo Student Trainee_SpotlightASPEN’s Student and Trainee Section has launched the first Section Instagram account. Follow them at @ASPEN_Students_Trainees. Meet other students and trainees, and hear about their clinical work and research. Congratulations, Student and Trainee Section!

February 2021: Vijay Srinivasan, MD

Vijay Srinivasan_SpotlightASPEN member Vijay Srinivasan, MD, recently presented on pediatric critical illness with fellow ASPEN members Ann-Marie Brown, CCRN, CPNP, PhD, RN, and Sharon Y. Irving, CRNP, MSN, PhD, at this year’s Society of Critical Care Medicine’s Critical Care Congress. The talk regarding enteral nutrition in children in critical care was highlighted in Medscape Medical News. Check out his advice here.

January 2021: Peggi Guenter, PhD, RN, FAAN, FASPEN

Peggi Guenter_SpotlightThe Nutrition Support Nurses Section dedicated their December meeting to celebrate Peggi Guenter—the second recipient of the ASPEN Lifetime Achievement Award. Dr. Guenter was presented the award during the ASPEN 2021 Nutrition Science & Practice Conference, held virtually on March 20-23, 2021. In her keynote address, "Tenets of Nutrition Support Clinical Practice," Dr. Guenter shared how her endless curiosity and focus on improving patient care formed her career and linked with the evolution and goals of ASPEN. 

December 2020: Mary Baker, PharmD, MBA, FASPEN

Mary_Baker_SpotlightHere is a shout out to a Fellow of ASPEN (FASPEN), Dr. Mary Baker. She is the recipient of the George DiDomizio Industry Award from the Institute for Safe Medication Practices. Congratulations, Dr. Baker!

November 2020: Kathleen Gura, PharmD, BCNSP, FASPEN

Kathleen Gura_SpotlightWe would like to give a shout out to long-time member, Dr. Kathleen Gura. She is the recipient of the Pediatric Pharmacy Association’s (PPA) 2020 Richard A. Helms Award of Excellence in Pediatric Pharmacy Practice. Congratulations, Dr. Gura!