ASPEN Awards

ASPEN recognizes and presents awards to members who have contributed to the field by showcasing exceptional expertise in clinical practice, education, and advocacy. The accomplishments of those selected for an award improved the quality and efficacy of the profession and their actions provide a positive example for healthcare professionals. Each award is given annually and recipients are recognized at the ASPEN Nutrition Science and Practice Conference (formerly known as Clinical Nutrition Week).

The nomination period for the 2018 Awards cycle opens this summer.


Distinguished Service Awards

These awards recognize ASPEN members who have made exceptional leadership and practice contributions that have furthered the vision and mission of the society over a sustained period of time. Winners will receive a $250 travel stipend to attend the conference.

Distinguished Nutrition Support Dietitian Service Award

Distinguished Nutrition Support International Service Award

Distinguished Nutrition Support Nurse Service Award 

Distinguished Nutrition Support Pharmacist Service Award

Distinguished Nutrition Support Physician Service Award

Distinguished Nutrition Support Dietitian, Advanced Clinical Practice Award

In addition to the service award, ASPEN pays tribute to a dietitian member annually in recognition of his or her outstanding contributions in leadership, practice, and advancement of dietitians in the field of nutrition support. The winner will receive a $250 travel stipend to attend the conference.

Stanley Serlick Award

This award, sponsored by Hospira, Inc., recognizes a pharmacist who has made significant contributions to improving safe practices for parenteral nutrition through published literature, membership on national committees or task forces, and/or presentations at regional and national meetings.  

Excellence in Nutrition Support Education Award

This award recognizes one nutrition support educator’s excellence in the delivery of professional education. The award is open to ASPEN members who have teaching responsibilities in an academic, community, or other supervised training setting. The winner will receive a $250 travel stipend to attend the conference. 

ASPEN Fellows

Each year, ASPEN honors exceptional achievement in practice or research and service to the organization through the Fellowship (FASPEN) designation. This award showcases the many contributions of valuable ASPEN members and recognizes their commitments to ASPEN and the field of clinical nutrition. To determine your eligibility for the FASPEN designation, please review and complete this document and send to Andrea Cuellar to complement the nomination form. **Current ASPEN Board members are not eligible to be nominated for the FASPEN Award.**   

Lyn Howard Nutrition Support Consumer Advocacy Award

ASPEN members work directly with patients, families, and/or caregivers who perform admirable activities and heroically advocate for others like themselves and their families. In order to recognize those individuals, this recognition is given annually to one patient/family member/caregiver. This award is named in honor of ASPEN member and Oley Foundation co-founder, Lyn Howard, MB, FRCP.  

More Information

Barney Sellers Public Policy Award

Barney Sellers, former ASPEN executive director, had a tremendous impact on public policy and advocacy during his 15-year tenure. This award honors his work with many members to advance our advocacy goals and give ASPEN a voice among policy makers in the US.  

More Information

ASPEN Clinical Nutrition Team of Distinction Award

This award recognizes excellence in interdisciplinary clinical nutrition practice in institutions or agencies who meet certain criteria and compliance with ASPEN national standards, guidelines, and values. One of ASPEN’s highest achievements, multiple awards are given annually.  

More Information   

New Practitioner Award

Do you know an emerging professional who has already contributed to the advancement of clinical nutrition? Nominate them for the New Practitioner Award by November 27, 2017, and share their achievements with ASPEN! 

Critical Care Section  Home and Alternate Site Care Section  Medical Practice Section Pediatric Intestinal Failure Section
Dietetics Practice Section  Ibero Latin America Section   Nutrition Support Nurses Section  Pharmacy Practice Section 
Drug Nutrient Interaction  International Clinical Ethics Section Pediatrics Section  Research Section