A.S.P.E.N. Research Awards

ASPEN recognizes excellence in research through its awards program and acknowledges its awardees at Clinical Nutrition Week each year. ASPEN’s Research Awards honor dedicated researchers who excel in the field of clinical nutrition and metabolism with three types of major Research Awards.

The Jonathan E. Rhoads Lecture

The Rhoads Lecture is the most prestigious of ASPEN's annual awards. This honor, in Dr. Rhoads’ name, recognizes his pivotal role in the field of nutrition therapy. The lecturer is a person who is recognized internationally for major contributions to the field of nutrition therapy and who has demonstrated a career-long commitment to the improvement of the nutritional status of patients. The lecturer is recommended by the ASPEN Board of Directors and is invited by the president to deliver the lecture at Clinical Nutrition Week.

Past Lecturers

The Stanley J. Dudrick Research Scholar Award

The Stanley J. Dudrick Research Scholar Award honors mid-career investigators who have made significant achievements in nutrition support research.

Learn More

Original Abstract Research Awards

Investigators who submit previously unpublished basic or clinical research and data, practice abstracts, or case studies to CNW are eligible for Original Abstract Research Awards. Depending on abstract review scores, awardees will present abstracts in poster exchanges, oral paper sessions, or workshops. Awards include The Harry M. Vars Award, The Promising Investigator Award, Research Trainee Awards, Best of CNW Awards, International Abstract Research Awards, Research Workshop Travel Awards, and Abstracts of Distinction.

Learn More